Distinguished Lecture Series

The Distinguished Chair Professor (DCP) fellowship initiated by All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), India intends to utilize the expertise of highly qualified and experienced superannuated Professionals who have made unparalleled, exceptional professional contribution to the society in their respective field/discipline for motivating and inspiring students/faculty of AICTE approved institutes.

KIET Group of Institutions is listed by All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), India for DCP Scheme.
AICTE-DCP Coordinator: Prof. (Dr.) Anil Kumar Ahlawat, Dean-Academics, KIET Group of Institutions, Delhi-NCR, Ghaziabad

Details of lectures organized under Distinguished Lecture Series:

Dr. Rajagopala Chidambaram

Topic: Achievements in Indian Science and Technology
Date of Lecture: 04th Sep 2021

He is an Indian Physicist who is known for his integral role in India's nuclear weapons program; he coordinated test preparation for the Pokhran-I (1975) and Pokhran-II (1998).He was chairman of the board of Governors of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) during 1994–95. He was also a member of the Commission of Eminent Persons appointed by the Director-General, IAEA, in 2008 to prepare a report on "The Role of the IAEA to 2020 and beyond". Previously served as the principal scientific adviser to the federal Government of India, Dr. Chidambaram has previously served as the Director of the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC).

Prof. Ashok Misra

Topic: Research, Creativity, Innovation and Beyond
Date of Lecture: 30th Oct 2021

Prof. Ashok Misra is currently associated with NASI (National Academy of Sciences, India). Distinguished Professor at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. Earlier he was Director at IIT Bombay (2000-08); Chairman-India Intellectual Ventures (2008-16); at IIT Delhi (1977-2000) and at Monsanto Chemical Co. (1974-77).

Dr. Raghunath Anant Mashelkar

Topic: Reinventing IndianEducation, Research and Innovation System
Date of Lecture: 19th Nov 2021

He is a former Director General of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR).He was also the President of Indian National Science Academy (2004-2006), President of Institution of Chemical Engineers (2007) as also the President of Global Research Alliance (2007-2018). Honours by President of India: (highest Indian civilian awards) are:

  • Padma Shri, India's fourth highest civilian award (1991)
  • Padma Bhushan, India's third highest civilian award (2000)
  • Padma Vibhushan, India's second highest civilian award


Shri Karnal Singh

Topic: Cyber Security and Privacy Measures of Digital World
Date of Lecture: 13th Oct 2021

Shri. Karnal Singh has served India as an IPS officer, 1984 batch of AGMUT cadre, with over 34 years of distinguished work in governance, counterterrorism, anti-money laundering, and policing. He retired as the Chief of Enforcement Directorate wherein he dealt with investigations of white-collar crimes. He also led the Special Cell of Delhi Police that cracked several terrorism cases during his tenure.

Dr. Virindra Kumar Raina

Topics Covered: “Why do the bridges in our part of the world Crack and Distress much earlier than in many of the first world countries?”, “Prestressed Concrete (Pivotal Points), Equipment, Accessories, Field Issues, Animations”
Date of Lecture series: - 09th August to 10th August, 2021 and 16th August to 17th August, 2021

Dr. Virindra Kumar Raina is a towering personality in the field of bridge engineering. He is a highly qualified and experienced practicing professional civil engineer with sustained private sector experience. He is a Member of various professional Civil Engineering committees dealing with drafting of codes of practice for design, construction and specifications. He was awarded with two gold Medals for merit in Engineering.

Prof. N.J. Rao

Topic: Alignment of Elements of a Course
Date of Lecture: 24th July 2021

Prof. Rao was associated for several years with the International Institute of Information Technology (IIIT), Bangalore, and Kerala State Higher Education Council. He was a member of Core committees that defined the present NBA Accreditation process, and the new Accreditation processes of NAAC.

Cmde Alok Nanda

Topic: India's Security and Prosperity: Role of Seas and Oceans
Date of Lecture: 12th June 2021

Cmde Alok Nanda is serving Indian Navy for many years on numerous locations and now he is designated as Cmde (Nav Ops) since 19 March 21.He was honoured with gold medal by 44 ICC Midshipman Board ,Scudder Medalby 63 staff Course,DSCC and Prize for Best Research Paper by 58 NDC ,Thailand.

Dr. Himanshu Sharma

Topic: Understanding the impact and COVID-19 and Black Fungus
Date of Lecture: 05th June 2021

Presently serving as District coordinator (COVID 19) & Nodal Officer at DM Office (West District), Govt of NCT of Delhi. Dr.Himanshu is awarded with Awarded by certificates of excellence and participation (6 in international & 3 in national), Indo Asian – Tasuku Honjo distinguished physiologist Award”, “Best researcher award”, “Award of Excellence in research”, “IMRF young scientist award” , “Excellent researcher award” and “Young Scientist award”

Dr. Rangnath R.V.

Topic: Key Components of Outcome Based Education
Date of Lecture: 26th June 2021

Dr.Rangnath R.V. (Professor, BMS College of Engineering,Bangalore), an illustrious personality having a vast experience ineducation field. He did his Master of Technology (M.Tech.) in Building Science and Construction Management from Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Delhi – 1992 And Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.,) from Indian Institute of Technology(IIT), Delhi on “Pond ash as fine aggregate in concrete” in 1996. He has Served as Chairman, ICI-KBC. (2006-08) Currently Serving as member Washington accord review committee for National Board of Accreditation (NBA). He has Served as member evaluators training committee for NBA. At present, actively involved in implementation of Outcomes Based Education (OBE) in Engineering Institutions through NBA awareness programmes and Evaluators training programmes as resource person.